Mon, 28 Nov 2022

JAKARTA, Sept. 24 (Xinhua) -- The 2022 IFSC Climbing World Cup speed events series concluded here on Saturday as Indonesia's Aspar and China's Deng Lijuan won the men's and the women's last leg respectively.

It took Aspar 5.39 seconds to defeat his compatriot Kiromal Katibin, who spent 5.75 seconds in the final combat.

The small final saw two Chinese climbers Cao Long and Long Jinbao competing for a bronze medal. Cao grabbed the victory by 5.16 seconds while Long fell from the wall.

China's Deng Lijuan ruled the women's event, marking an impressive series of consistently fast times: 7.05 seconds in the first round, 6.91 in the quarterfinal, 6.69 in the semifinal and 6.66 in the final.

The podium was completed by Poland's Kalucka sisters, with a silver for Natalia and a bronze for Aleksandra.

Although missing the podium in this leg, Indonesia's Veddriq Leonardo claimed men's season overall victory with 4,455 points, followed by Kiromal Katibin with 4,080 points and Long Jinbao with 3,105 points.

The women's season title went to Poland's Aleksandra Kalucka, followed by American Emma Hunt and Kalucka's sister Natalia.

More Brunei News

Access More

Sign up for Brunei News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!